Committee Members

The California Social Work Hall of Distinction Committee is comprised of social work leaders from universities and social work organizations throughout the state.

Dr. Colleen Friend
Chair, Hall of Distinction

Professor and Interim Director, School of Social Work, California State University, Los Angeles

Frances S. Caple, Associate Dean, USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, retired

Suzanne Dworak-Peck, CSWA Board Member, Ambassador, International Federation of Social Workers

David Foster, Director and Founding Member, California Regional Training Academy Development and Implementation Project. Staff Director, Central California Area Social Services Consortium (CCASSC). California State University, Fresno

Esther Gillies, Past President, CSWA; USC Suzanne Dworak-Peck School of Social Work, Clinical Associate Professor, retired

Anita Harbert, Professor Emeritus and former Director, San Diego State University

Catherine Hutto-Gordon, President, Hutto-Patterson Charitable Foundation

Jim Kelly, Past President, NASW-CA and NASW National

Peter Allen Lee, Director and Professor, School of Social Work, San Jose State University

Nancy Lim-Yee,  Program Director, Chinatown Child Development Center, San Francisco Department of Public Health, retired

Joseph Nunn, First Vice President NASW-CA, Professor Emeritus, UCLA Department of Social Welfare

Catharine Ralph, Past President NASW-CA, Field Consultant and Title IV-E Project Coordinator, University of California, Berkeley, retired

Deborah Son, Executive Director, NASW-CA

Janlee Wong, Past Executive Director, NASW-CA


Past members of the Committee

  • Chauncey Alexander
  • Marie Angell
  • Mike Austin
  • Ruth Britton
  • Ronald Boltz
  • Benjamin Cuellar
  • Doreen Der-McLeod
  • Jill Duerr Berrick
  • Tessie Cleveland
  • Simon Dominguez
  • Ellen Dunbar
  • Frances Lomas Feldman
  • Manuel Fimbres
  • Neil Gilbert
  • Greta Glugowski
  • Lindsay James
  • Jeff Jue
  • James Karls
  • Jim Lubben
  • June Simmons
  • Jewelle Taylor-Gibbs
  • Monika White
  • Kim Gaghagen

Please email us with corrections and additions to this list.